Monday, August 15, 2011

Manning Award Watch List Member

Robinson Tabbed Manning Award Watch List Member

ANN ARBOR, Mich. -- University of Michigan football junior Denard Robinson (Deerfield Beach, Fla./Deerfield Beach) on Monday (Aug. 15) was one of 31 quarterbacks named to the 2011 preseason watch list for the Manning Award, given by the Allstate Sugar Bowl committee to the quarterback judged to be the best in the United States.

Robinson was one of four Big Ten quarterbacks named to the watch list for the award. Robinson, the 2010 Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, earlier this summer was named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, Paul Hornung Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

The list of 10 finalists for the eighth Manning Award will be released on Monday, Nov. 28. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 18, after the bowls and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans. The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performances in its balloting.

The original article here.

No comments: